“Paint the Roses” Etsy Beadweavers Team Challenge – Sept 2015

image

The Sept Challenge was to create  a bead woven work using black, white and only one other color. This was definitely a challenge for me because I tend to gravitate toward earthy, neutral palettes. Initially I played with yellow and turquoise as the accent color but I kept coming back to red.

As I worked in the stark black and white, I was reminded of Aunt Em and Uncle Henry’s black and white Kansas farm. The red seemed to be the pop of color from Oz. Maybe some poppies for Aunt Em? But not really poppy shaped.

Then, as I worked on the tila bead checkerboard patterned diamond, I started to think of Harlequin patterns in the Queen of Heart’s dress in Alice in Wonderland. The white and red beads reminded me of the starkness of the white roses with drops of red paint spilling off them.

As far as technical process, the focal is a round onyx surrounded by Superduos and seed beads and backed with ultrasuede. The diamond is made of tila beads, seed beads and daggers.

The rope is 18″ long and is stitched in 3 drop, zipped peyote. The toggle clasp is hand beaded and accented with tila and dagger beads.

Please visit our team blog, http://www.etsy-beadweavers.blogspot.com between the 9th and 15th and vote for “Paint the Roses.” Thanks! -Heidi

Leave a Reply

